Chief Commissioners

The Treaty Commission's impartiality is reflected in its composition and the way it makes decisions. Commissioners do not represent the Principals that appoint them, but instead act independently. Decisions require the support of one appointee of each of the Principals.

The Chief Commissioner is appointed to a three-year term by agreement of the Principals. The First Nations Summit elects two Commissioners and the federal and provincial governments appoint one each. In the absence of a Chief Commissioner, the four remaining Commissioners unanimously agree to appoint one of them to act as Chief Commissioner.

Click the Chief Commissioner’s image to read their bio.

Chief Commissioner Celeste Haldane
Celeste Haldane
Chief Commissioner

Celeste Haldane was appointed Chief Commissioner in April 2017. Prior to this she served as an elected Commissioner for three two-year terms commencing in 2011. 

Celeste is a practising lawyer and was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 2019. She holds a Master of Laws (LL.M.) in Constitutional Law from Osgoode Hall Law School (York University), and a Bachelor of Laws (LL.B.) and Bachelor of Arts from UBC. In 2015, she began her doctorate in Anthropology and Law at UBC.  

The Provincial Government appointed Celeste to serve on the UBC Board of Governors where she is Chair of the Indigenous Engagement Committee and the Legal Services Society. She is a Director of the Brain Canada Foundation, the Hamber Foundation, and the Musqueam Capital Corporation. She is an active member of both the Canadian Bar Association and the Indigenous Bar Association. In 2015, Celeste attended the Governor General’s Canadian Leadership Conference.

Celeste is a member of the Sparrow family from Musqueam and is Tsimshian through Metlakatla. She is the proud mother of three and grandmother of two.


700-1111 Melville Street
Vancouver BC
V6E 3V6
604 482 9200

Sign Up for BCTC News